#PrayForDallas

#PrayforParis, #PrayforOrlando, #PrayforBaghdad (I know there are many more).  Because I live in a major city and we live in a violent world; it was probably only a matter of time.  Last night, I watched my beloved city become this hashtag because a few frustrated and angry people chose to meet violence with violence.

I’ve seen the people who get angry over hashtags like these.  In their view, people post nice sentiments about praying for the situation and then feel absolved of any need to take action.  For some people, this is true, but that’s not how prayer works.  St. Teresa of Calcutta said:

I used to believe that prayer changes things, but now I know that prayer changes us and we change things.

The only thing I can think to do right now is pray.  Maybe by meditating on the problem, God will make me part of the solution.  Maybe by writing and sharing this post, I am being part of the solution.  I don’t know.

So, I’m going to leave you with one of my favorite prayers in the hopes that when we #Prayfor(insert city here) we can pray like St. Teresa.

Capture3

Original photo credit DMagazine.

This entry was posted in Spirituality and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

