DIY Kitchen Spray

Capture2

Recently, I obtained a food handler’s license for my job at the church by taking an online course.  One of the things the course covered was how to properly disinfect surfaces using a bleach solution.  Sure enough, when I got home and looked at my bottle of bleach, it had instructions for how to mix a bleach solution for disinfecting kitchen surfaces.

I used this to wipe down my kitchen counters for a couple of weeks, but it wasn’t doing a a very good job cutting though grease.  I added a couple of drops of dish soap and that solved the problem.

I like this spray because it uses ingredients I already have on hand for other purposes.  I don’t have to invest in another product.  It is also roughly the same surface disinfectant used in commercial kitchens, which makes me feel like I can trust it more.

To Make the Spray

Clean out an old cleaner bottle or obtain a new one.  I used an empty 409 bottle which I cleaned out VERY WELL.  This is important because 409 uses ammonia and when ammonia and bleach mix they produce poisonous gas.  I made sure the spray bottle was very well washed out.  I know Wal-Mart sells empty spray bottles in the cleaning section for this purpose as well.

Second safety tip: label your bottle.  Even if you live alone, label your bottle.  A friend or family-member might be helping you clean one day and they’ll need to know what’s in there.  You could make a fancy label, or you could just write on the bottle with a Sharpie like I did.

Mix the bleach and water in the spray bottle according to the directions on the bleach bottle.  I can’t give exact measurements because your bleach may have a different level of concentration.  My bleach gave directions for making a gallon of disinfectant, but the spray bottle only holds a quart of liquid.  I divided the amount of ingredients by 4 so it would fit in the bottle.

Add a few drops of dish soap, shake to mix, and you’re done.  I suppose you could add essential oil such as lavender if you’d like, but I prefer the lack of scent.

How I Use My Spray

This spray is safe to use on all kitchen surfaces, though not on food directly.  I use it to wipe down my kitchen counters after I finish cooking.  I also have a very large cutting board (you can see it in the picture).  I use this spray to sanitize the board after I finish using it.  I’ve also used the spray to clean the microwave and the stove top.

How will you use your disinfectant spray?

This entry was posted in Home Management and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DIY Kitchen Spray

  1. I use the same solution to clean my countertops and sinks. When I am light cleaning, I use vinegar, water, and a drop or two of Dawn dish soap.

Leave a Reply

